Naruto 1

Naruto 1

A few weeks ago I finally picked up Naruto 1, the world’s most popular manga. The story goes like this. Twelve years before the story begins, a nine-tailed fox demon attacked the village of Konohagakure and killed the Hokage, or village champion. Today, readers find the village in peace, except for the antics of one orphan, Uzumaki Naruto. Naruto is trying his best to graduate from the ninja academy, and failing miserably, until he unlocks the secrets of the difficult ninja move, the doppelganger. He uses this move to win his teacher’s approval, but not before he discovers the truth behind his own mysterious past. Will Naruto suceed in becoming a shinobi, a true ninja, or will his past doom him to be an outcast forever?

Overall, Naruto was pretty good. It took me a while to get into the story (and to figure out how to read it the right way), but by the last page I was definitely ready to pick up volume 2. Like I said, this was pretty much  my first manga, so I don’t have any grounds for comparison. Still, I give it a thumbs up, except for its stereotypical and sexist treatment of female characters (that part sucks!).

DweebMeter: 3/5

Official Naruto Website

Naruto on Wikipedia

Naruto Central

