betterdays.jpgWhy is it that I always seem to discover things at least five years too late? I did it with Harry Potter (I didn’t pick up the first book until the fifth was already out in paperback). And then I did it again with Buffy. I picked up the Firefly dvds in December 2007, based solely on my love of Joss Whedon. Two months later, I finally peeled off the plastic and popped in the first disc. Right away, I was hooked. Firefly brought everything that made me love Buffy (amazing dialogue, characters and action) and put it in space. It didn’t take me long to watch all fourteen Firefly episodes and the movie that followed (Serenity). But I wanted more. I bought a bunch of spin-off books on Amazon, which have yet to arrive. But then yesterday I stopped by a local comic book store to pick up Buffy Season Eight and Angel After the Fall, and I stumbled upon this new Serenity comic.

This prequel to the movie follows Mal, Zoe, Jayne and the rest of the crew on another dangerous space heist. Once again, Mal plans a deceptively simple job burglarizing an art museum. What he doesn’t know is that the Alliance has chosen the same day to test a new, state-of-the-art capture vehicle.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m a newbie to comics and graphic novels, but this one hit the spot. The Firefly-brand action translates well to the comic genre. Whedon even manages to fit in some of the witty dialogue and character interactions that make fans (like me) fall in love with his stories. The cover is awesome (by Adam Hughes), and the art inside stays true to the TV characters (except for Wash, who doesn’t exactly capture Alan Tudyk). Overall, a great read. I will definitely pick up the next two in the series.

Firefly/Serenity Tribute Video from violeteyes5835:

Want more videos? The following message board provides links to a bunch of Firefly tributes: UniversalHD Message Boards > Firefly

DweebMeter: 4/5 

My Firefly/Serenity Links 

Serenity Movie Links

Serenity on IMDB

Serenity on Wikipedia

SerenityMovie.com

Firefly Books

Finding Serenity: Anti-Heroes, Lost Shepherds and Space Hookers in Joss Whedon’s Firefly

Firefly: The Official Companion Volume One 

Firefly: The Official Companion Volume Two

Serenity Found: More Unauthorized Essays on Joss Whedon’s Firefly Universe

Serenity Official Visual Companion

Serenity: the Future is Worth Fighting For (Movie Tie-in)

More Firefly Stuff

Done the Impossible: The Fan’s Tale of Firefly and Serenity (DVD)

Serenity Role Playing Game

Firefly Fan Fiction Links – all ratings (from PG to Slash)

BrownCoats.com Fan Fiction Links

FanFiction.net Firefly Stories

LJC’s Fan Fiction Site

SerenityVerse.com Fanfic

Steven Brust’s Firefly Novel

Valerie’s Fan Fiction Archive

Additional Links

Making of a Comic: Serenity Better Days, from Dark Horse – includes script, sketches, etc.

Interview with Brett Matthews (comic co-writer)

A Joss Whedon Blog – Whedonesque

Serenity: Better Days 2 Preview

