Breaking Dawn

Breaking Dawn

In Twilight, I was swept into this mysterious, yet very modern vampire tale by Bella’s honest voice and Meyer’s well-crafted entry into the world of fantasy. New Moon dragged, and brought to the surface the aspects of the series I don’t like, i.e. the lack of action, Bella’s agonizing inability to see what the reader knows from the beginning and the unequal dynamic between Bella and the two monsters in her life, Edward and Jacob. I stayed on through Eclipse, hoping that Bella might finally come into her own power. Alas, it was not to be. Then came, Breaking Dawn

!!!SPOILERS!!!

!!!SPOILERS!!!

Yes, I did the whole midnight release party thing. Actually, I hosted the Twilight Jeopardy at the midnight release party at Barnes & Noble, red contacts and all. It took me a week to read it, and here’s how I felt in a nutshell. The first 700 pages were great! More things happen in the first half of this book than happened in the first three books combined. Finally, probably out of necessity, Bella stops hedging, planning and worrying about what’s going to happen, and she actually makes stuff happen! On that point, my friend Rena, an avid fan (compared to my lukewarm fandom), was troubled by the suddenness of this book. She also found the events in the book (aka Renesmee) a little hard to buy into. I liked the whole vampire baby twist. Not only was it very Rosemary’s Baby, but it took some guts on Meyer’s part to take the plot in such a dangerous, unexpected direction. I also loved the section from Jacob’s perspective, partly because I am one of the generally shunned Team Jacob crew, partly because Jacob is a person of action (and thus much more interesting to read than Bella).

The problem. This was definitely my favorite book in the series, but… Just when Meyer got me all geared up to finally experience the awesome clash between good and evil, Bella and the Volturi, what do I get? More hedging, some inner turmoil and a battle that dissolves before it even gets started. The ending is too pat, the resolution to the conflict too easy. A disappointing ending to a series that packed so much potential.

That being said, I will be at the midnight release party for Midnight Sun (Twilight from Edward’s perspective), and any other books she writes in the saga (maybe a companion novel focusing on Jacob after Breaking Dawn, dare I hope :). What can I say? Reading brings out the masochist in me.

DweebMeter: 3/5

Links

StephenieMeyer.com

